Tags

, ,

I seem to have failed to read a complete book in October (:eek:), so in lieu of that, here’s a  list of the lecture courses that I’ve listened to in the last year or so. In general, if I’ve seen the course through then I liked it a lot. There are probably several others which I’ve listened to a few of, but never really got started on.

Colonial and Revolutionary America – Jack Rakove, Stanford. I tailed off towards the end a bit.

Ancient Greek History – Donald Kagan, Yale. The first half of this is really good – I don’t know much/any classical history, so what struck me was the sense of different ages of Greek history, in particular the difference between the Homeric and the city-state eras.

Not Shakespeare & Approaching Shakespeare – Emma Smith, Oxford. It’s funny how interesting it can be listening to someone analyse a play you’ve never even heard of. Or maybe it’s just me.

Modern Physics – Cathryn Carson, Berkley. I mentioned this one before, but it’s really good.

The Civil War and Reconstruction Era – David Blight, Yale. ITunes downloaded them out of order, in particular during the discussion of the war itself, so I got a little confused at the course of it, but really the course is more about the wider social, cultural, and intellectual issues surrounding the war anyway.

History of the International System – James Sheehan, Stanford. I’ve listened to a lot of this whilst running.

LSE public events – this is a mish-mash of different things. The ones where the talker is a politician tend to be awful, but in general it’s probably the strongest set of seminars available on line that I know of.

The Reith Lectures (2012 – Niall Ferguson) – I can’t make up my mind about Ferguson (and I can never spell his name right). He’s a really great presenter, but I tend to find that I end up a bit unconvinced by his arguments when I think about them a little bit more deeply. So these are a pretty good listen, but maybe ultimately a touch unsatisfying (there are some more in the LSE series from last year).

*space for the ones I’ve probably forgotten about*